I Can’t Afford To Lie In Bed Like Brian Wilson Did

March 1, 2010

Brian Wilson Upright

Brian Wilson - Upright

My motto has always been – Nervous Breakdowns are only for rich people – I have to make a living.  I don’t mean to make light of mental illness but how many people can afford to check in to the hospital or a facility for “exhaustion”.   The ultimate symbol of this for me has always been when Brian Wilson of The Beach Boys took to his bed for three years in the early 70’s. 

I’m human and have had some down periods in my life.  In one instance I was in a horrible job in a horrible town.  This always made me wonder, was the town just horrible because the job was horrible? or was it truly a horrible town.   I’ve never compeletly decided on the answer to that. 

I was depressed with the situation and it was shear TORTURE to even drive myself to the office every morning.  I felt like I was going to have a Nervous Breakdown.  One of the things that kept me going was whenever the song “Brian Wilson” by the Bare Naked Ladies came on the radio.   

If you don’t remember the lyrics they included –  “Well I’m lying in bed just like Brian Wilson did.
So I’m lying here, just staring at the ceiling tiles. and I’m thinking about what to think about.” and “if you want to find me I’ll be out in the sandbox”.  The second part being a reference to when they moved his piano into a giant sandbox his family and “therapist” had constructed in his living room to inspire him. 

The reason a potentially depressing song like this inspired me was that it always made me realize – “I have to keep moving and make a living.” 

I have taken to my bed a few times because I was stressed or depressed and thought I might have a nervous breakdown.  These episodes though usually only consisted of sleeping late or taking a nap in the middle of the day.  Usually the naps were less than an hour long because they were interrupted by a phone call or email of someone needing something.  That usually distracted me from my self and off I went to complete the task requested by the interrupting phone call.  Incidentally – this method was greatly helped by the fact I am too paranoid too turn off the phone. 

Then I discovered while writing this post that there is no such thing as a “Nervous Breakdown” anymore.  They now call it “situational depression”, “anxiety disorder” or “burn-out”.   Gee – That isn’t nearly as dramatic as the term nervous breakdown. 

Brian Wilson as it turns out probably didn’t have a nervous breakdown anyway.  The new thought is that he was  in the developing stages of Schizophrenia.  Totally Different Head.

As always – 

You can follow me on Facebook at “I am Dazed and Confused” or Twitter – www.twitter.com/iamdandc 

cs

One Response to “I Can’t Afford To Lie In Bed Like Brian Wilson Did”


  1. […] I was thinking about Brian this weekend and listening to some of his music. And when I searched online for a photo to use of Brian in his robe, I came across a number of related articles.  I also came across another blogger, Charlie, who also went through his Brian phase. […]


Leave a Reply

