FL GOP Party Stalwart – RESIGNS!!

February 24, 2010

Jeb Bush has not resigned from the Florida Republican party.

But my Mother did and she was a dues paying member.

All I will divulge here is that it was unhappiness with the direction and organization of the state organization.  She had given up on having any influence in the national party YEARS AGO.

This is someone who has been a lifelong supporter of Republican politics and is a true loss for this group.  I am sure they didn’t notice or care, which is truly a shame.

My mother has been active in Republican politics since the late 50’s early 60’s.  Her political activism started in Houston, Texas back when  “Republican” was still a dirty word in Texas.  She was a Block Captain, worked on the first congressional campaign of George Herbert Walker Bush (aka Old Man Bush) even dancing with him once at a party function.  At the time I was born, my parents received congratulatory letters from both future president Bush and one of his staffers someone named James Baker.

She was a Goldwater Republican.  Kept up appearances by publically supporting Richard Nixon through the Watergate scandal – “he wasn’t doing anything different than anybody else, he just got caught” was the party line in our house. 

The funniest incident involving her political activism was during the 1976 campaign of Gerald Ford. When our house was being inundated by mailings on a daily basis from both the Republican Party  and the Ford campaign.  We received a phone call that began with the caller saying “this is Betty Ford” my mother’s response was “really?”  Well the call was from Betty Ford but it was from the Betty Ford who lived in our neighborhood and wanted me to mow her yard, not THE Betty FordI think she is disappointed to this day.

Her glory days were the Reagan years – she was in heaven!  Not a bad word could be said about Nancy or Ronnie.  She absolutely worshipped them.  My parents even hosted viewing parties for his initial Televison addresses.

Of course there was support of the senior George Bush during his campaigns and presidencies.  She attended the state conventions in the late 90’s and 2000 even acting as a state delegate for Lamar Alexander.

The Clinton years were a blackhole to my parents.

I noticed some weakening of support during the “W” years but no visible crack until the primary season for the 2008 election.

I don’t know if she ever publically admitted it, but among family she voiced support for the antichrist of the Republican party.

HILLARY CLINTON!!! 

At that point the handwriting was on the wall.

My Father declined comment for this post.

(note – despite being raised in this environment and living in conservative GA I do not identify myself as Republican)

As always – 

You can follow me on Facebook at “I am Dazed and Confused” or Twitter – www.twitter.com/iamdandc 

cs

Leave a Reply

