Who Do You Have to F#%K To Get On The Front Page of WordPress.com?

January 5, 2010

This blog is hosted by WordPress.com .  If you go to their home page you will see a small selection of blogs/posts they are “recommending”.  A few days ago I saw one that caught my interest and clicked on it.  The title was “Childless by Choice” which my wife and I are, so I thought I would take a look.  It was a good post.  Not too serious on the subject and covering the bases.  I left a comment as a courtesy to the author.  For some reason I must have checked to be notified of updates to the post.

I forgot completely about the post until late that night when my blackberry all of a sudden had 50 plus emails notifying me of comments to this post.  I cleared them, then another large batch came through.  Yesterday the notifications were intermittent.  This morning I woke up to over 50 notifications.  I went back to the original source and checked it out. 

This is a good blog, not one with salacious celebrity gossip or anything.  The author had posted an update – It seems her post must have been randomly picked.  Her previous posts that I saw had no comments on one, two on another, eight on another.  These are respectable numbers for a non celebrity blogger.  The post that had been featured on the front page of wordpress.com OVER 200 COMMENTS.

I am pimping this blog on Twitter and Facebook and would KILL for this kind of exposure.

My congratulations go out to Jessica who writes: ANDIAMO – what a travel writer writes when she’s not writing about travel

Now back to my original question.  Anybody want to fill me in?

You can follow me on Facebook at “I am Dazed and Confused” or Twitter – www.twitter.com/iamdandc

 

cs

2 Responses to “Who Do You Have to F#%K To Get On The Front Page of WordPress.com?”

  1. john Says:

    pimp dat blog dude hehe. i don’t blame u. let’s get u featured.

  2. redriverpak Says:

    I ranted about this very subject on one of my posts a long time ago. There is no rhyme or reason to the crap that they list on the wordpress front page. My autograph blog has generated over a million views in a little over a year and never been listed on any wordpress list of any type. I have seen blogs featuring polaroid photos of dog crap that get listed under “top blogs” or “fastest growing blogs”….


Leave a Reply

