Huggy Bear Wanted To Be My Pimp

December 27, 2009

Huggy Bear Circa 1970's as Portrayed by Actor Antonio Fargas

Well O.K. it wasn’t Huggy Bear but it was a Black Dude that dressed like him and it did happen in 1977 in Los Angeles so the title of this post creates the mental imagery I wanted.   

Background – When I was 15 my family took a trip to California.  This was a VERY BIG DEAL.  Much like when The Brady Bunch went to Hawaii.  Except I was an only child,  didn’t find an evil Tiki God or meet Vincent Price.  I did get to see a taping of  “Chico and The Man” at NBC.  Unfortunately this was after Freddie Prinze (The father of Freddie Prinze Jr. if you are under 40) had died but Della Reese was still on the show.  During the trip there were some “Dazed and Confused” type of experiences and then there was the incident of the pimp propositioning me at the airport.

In the 1970’s we had learned about teen prostitution from the blockbuster TV Movie – Dawn: Portrait of a Teenage Runaway starring Eve Plumb formerly of The Brady Bunch.  How bad could it be if Jan Brady did it?  

So we had arrived at the Los Angeles Airport and were waiting outside of baggage claim for the family friend with whom we were staying to arrive and take us to their house.  Being an impatient teenager I was walking up and down the sidewalk away from my family.

At one point a guy walked up to me and said “you visiting?” to which I of course replied “yes” and his response was “we ought to do some sightseeing while you are here, here’s my number” and handed me a folded piece of paper which I crammed in to the pocket of my then everpresent Blazer Styled Jeans Jacket without even looking at it and probably said something like “O.K.” and walked on.

At whatever point I opened the note it said – Marcus Ph.# 555-1212, XXOOXX

Now maybe I’m being dramatic and the guy was just being nice and wanted to take the boy with the feathered hair sightseeing.  But I’m still suspicious since  he had on a three piece black Velvet suit with a matching hat.  We learned in Dawn: Portrait of a Teenage Runaway, that meant he was a pimp.

 

You can follow me on Facebook at “I am Dazed and Confused” or Twitter – www.twitter.com/iamdandc

 

CS

2 Responses to “Huggy Bear Wanted To Be My Pimp”


  1. […] No wonder Huggy Bear didn’t scare me a year later. […]


  2. […] No wonder Huggy Bear didn’t scare me a year later. […]


Leave a comment