Being A “CREEKER” Is Not A Good Thing

December 16, 2009

70's Creeker Fashion

Growing up in the 70’s the ultimate insult in my neighborhood was not somebody saying “your momma” which was when “your momma” first became fashionable as a putdown and became part of a joke as in “your momma is so fat that she…” (this of course evolved in to “yo Mama” jokes).  No the ultimate insult in my neighborhood was if someone called you a – 

CREEKER

In general, the term “creeker” was a term thrown around like we would use “low rent” today.  It referred to a lower socioeconomic section in our part of town along a waterway called Rocky Creek.  The “creekers” did little to enhance their reputation – as I remember one boy claimed in the 6th grade that when the creek flooded, their house floated off its foundation and they had to pick it up out of the street and put it back up on the concrete blocks.  Looking back, that story is a little suspect.  These houses had indoor plumbing (we lived in suburban Florida not rural Appalachia) these houses had to be attached by water, sewer and electrical lines which would have limited their movement during what were not major floods but basically the creek rising a few feet above its banks.  Being identified as a “creeker” had implications even with our parents.  My wife’s mother got enraged when at Christmas time charities would call them offering to deliver food and presents.  They had the same last name as a “creeker” family and lived on the same street but at the opposite end in their palatial 1500 s.f suburban tract home.  My Mother In Law wanted to make sure these charities knew – THEY WERE NOT A “CREEKER” FAMILY! 

The biggest reason that someone would be called a “creeker”  in my neighborhood was not to indicate you were poor.  It was to insinuate or point out that you had committed the ultimate fashion sin you could commit in the 1970’s. 

YOU WERE WEARING HIGH WATER PANTS!!!!

Basically pants that showed too much leg.  For the majority of the 70’s LOONG flaired pants were the fashion.  Not Bell Bottoms, that was the early 70’s.  Flaired jeans were the norm and they did look really bad when they were too short. 

Remember this was adolescence so we were going through growth spurts, parents may have been involved in the buying of clothes and bought them too short and made you wear them anyway plus clothes in the 70’s seemed to shrink a lot more than they do today. 

The fear of wearing highwaters and consequently being thought of as a “creeker” haunted me well into the late 90’s.  Part of this was because my true pants length is probably a 31 but try to buy regular men’s clothes in that length.  They are available in 30 or 32.  So I bought 32’s and wore my pants too long, often with frayed cuffs.  But to me frayed cuffs was much better than wearing highwater pants (yes I did sometimes have alterations done but that was a hassle) and even though no one where I then lived knew what the term meant, I of course did not want to be identified as a “creeker”. 

I finally had a breakthrough that solved this problem in the late 90’s – I found Ralph Lauren Polo.  Their 3o inch length pants are the PERFECT length.  Guess what, 90% of my clothes are now that brand because they are the right length.  No more frayed cuffs or alteration hassles.  Yes they cost a little more but they last forever and no one will say or think – “Look at that CREEKER”. 

BTW – I have a Facebook Page also titled I AM DAZED AND CONFUSED  Feel free to join.

or follow me on Twitter at www.twitter.com/iamdandc

CS

UPDATE – 1/5/09 – SOME PEOPLE ARE ACCUSING ME OF MAKING UP THIS STUFF.  CREEKER IS IN THE URBAN DICTIONARY AS ENTRY #5 – (CLICK HERE TO VIEW).  THERE IS ALSO A GROUP ON FACEBOOK THAT ACKNOWLEDGES IT’S ORIGINS AS DEFINED HERE (CLICK HERE TO VIEW) 
2 Responses to “Being A “CREEKER” Is Not A Good Thing”

  1. Rhonda Says:

    You are RIGHT ON with this blog, Kevin. I couldn’t have said it better myself! The only time I remember wearing pants that were flaired and too short was when I wore my Bay City Roller pants with plaid on them! They did look pretty Creekerish!

    No one else will get the “Creeker” thing anywere else, but in T n’C.
    Thanks


  2. […] A Tampa hometown girl.  Graduate of Leto High School which means she knows the meaning of the word “Creeker” and […]


Leave a Reply

